Learning to Nerd #1 - Getting Started

Learning to Nerd #1 - Getting Started

ยท

5 min read

๐Ÿ–ฅ๏ธ Getting Started

I'm sure most of you are aware that there is a huge world out there in terms of technologies, methodologies, and whatever other ologies a new open-source team will create tomorrow.

As someone who's incredibly interested in tech, it can be a bit intimidating to figure out what path to go down and what to pursue when wanting to learn about these things; I want to become a better developer but what should I pursue?

I've already gathered that a lot of people are very passionate about certain frameworks, libraries, etc. but there is not really a definitive answer on what to learn. Most people tend to lean towards what works best for them and I believe that ambiguity and the endless possibility of growth are what's so exciting about this world.

While I attempt to explore these different technologies and learn more about each topic, I figured blogging about my experience would be both a helpful and productive way of capturing where I'm at in my development; hence why I will dub this series "Learning to Nerd". This series will follow the tutorials, projects, and ideas I have about development along the way as I hope to become a web/app/whatever developer.

๐Ÿ‘‹ A little bit about me

  • I'm currently a Business Intelligence (BI) engineer
  • I'm passionate about UI/UX design
  • I'm a dad to two awesome kids, a husband to an amazing wife, and an avid learner

I've been developing and designing BI structures for the better part of 7 years since I graduated from college with a degree in Marketing; I started out as a theatre major.

๐Ÿค” Who's this for?

This series is for me; period. I need something to keep track of my path forward and to show myself my growth over time. If anyone else can find this series and believe it's helpful - that's wonderful and I'm excited for you to join me on this journey. If anyone out there wants to provide feedback, suggestions, or guidance I'd love that as well!

๐Ÿ“ What's the plan?

The plan is to simply pick a topic, focus on it, and write my findings/experiences. I plan on posting all of my work to GitHub as I'm working on projects from tutorials. My main sources will be site documentation, open forums (Hashnode, Discord groups, etc.), and Youtube. As I find things and work on them, I'll add a new post to the series with as much detail as possible.

I've done a lot of initial research and though there are many technologies to learn out there, I'm going to start with the MERN stack (MongoDB, ExpressJS, React, and NodeJS); I love what I've seen in terms of accessibility, ease of use, and the sheer number of tutorials out there. To kick it off, I'll be starting with the React Tutorial for Beginners [React js] video by Programming with Mosh:

If you stuck around this long, thank you so much for reading and I appreciate your time!

Article cover photo by Max Duzij on Unsplash